Indie Italy


Update With Some Big News!

So I knew it’s been way to long since my last update on this blog but a lot as happened this summer. I made my forth trip out to Italy to meet up with friends and family which was of course great. I got some promotions done and visited a few other countries as well. Along the way I received an email from a guy that is part of Indie Roccia, a development project about Indie Italian music from Italy. He loved the idea of Indie Italy and wanted me to participate in Indie Roccia. After many emails back and forth this month I am excited to be part of this team. I will continue to write and work on the Indie Italy site, posts will also be on the Indie Roccia site available in Italian.

Image

For those of you who have followed me on this journey from the beginning I thank you, to all my new followers welcome. I have written a welcome post for Indie Roccia which I would like to share. Thanks again to you all!

http://www.indie-roccia.it/news_look.php?id=7567

Introduction to Indie-Roccia

The earliest memory I have from my childhood is sitting in the back seat of my father’s car listening to old classical Italian folk music from the 1950’s. The music that my dad grew up listening to in the country he was born in, Italy. Twenty something years later, I drive my own car blasting music from the same country where my father was born that sounds absolutely nothing like what my father’s music. My name is Joseph Vinciguerra, I was born and raised in New York with a strong passion for music and Italian culture.

Being born and raised in New York as an Italian American meant my family followed traditions and were very passionate about our culture. If I can briefly use an English idiom I would be considered the “black sheep” in my Italian American family.
I never was the type to follow the traditional paths. If someone says to go left I go right. I am not stubborn I just live my life differently from my family. I had different interests than everyone in my family. Most of all I took on an interest in the alternative music scene.

Music was such a large part of my life growing up, and I knew I wanted to learn, play and make music just like my favorite bands. At the age of 12 I purchased my first drum set and little did I know how much this would be changing my life. From then, I got heavily involved in the underground local music scene playing shows in and out of bands playing different genres from punk, indie-rock, alternative, and heavy rock. Music was everywhere around me and I couldn’t get enough of it. New York had a great music scene (and still does), but I knew I needed to venture off and as the bands I was in started to fall and crumble, I knew it was time for me to do some soul searching.

When my father came to New York many relatives stayed in Italy, so I knew this would be a perfect opportunity for me to meet the family that I had only talked to over. I made my first trip out to Italy in 2007 and have been in love with the culture and traveling across the country. I lived and studied and traveled around cities all over Italy, and have made many great friends in the places that I have traveled.

Traveling around Italy I noticed that I heard a lot of American music and sometimes some Italian pop music. But when I came back home I started looking for Italian artist who created music similar to my own style. From the first second I started to hear the genre of what we call “Indie Italian Music” I knew I had to tell people.

When I first started stumbling upon these bands I knew I had to spread the word across the ocean and let people know. Shortly after, I created Indie Italy to focus on the Independent Italian music scene throughout Italy and Europe. Indie Italy is a way for me and people around me to get more involved with Italian Indie music and to enrich the name of what Italian culture is on TV now a days.

I am extremely excited for Indie Italy to join up with Indie-Roccia. I am also thrilled to give you my side of view of this genre of music being compared with American artists. Music is an extreme passion of mine along with my heritage. To be given the opportunity to talk about a mix of my two biggest passions is a blessing, and its because of all of you. I look forward to getting to know many of you!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment